Issue 92 is out now

Welcome to The Green Parent Forum

A place where you can chat to like-minded parents, form new friendships, share ideas, events and recipes. Use the search tool to find a wealth of information from the past 10 years of forum discussions. Register today and become part of our supportive community.

We rarely have anything in batter, so I am not an expert, but sometimes, frying food is just not an option if I have a tired Cerys and no Cat, and I really fancy tofu in ginger batter. I tried it in the oven yesterday and, as I suspected, the batter spread a bit and did not go crispy at all. Do I just need to use more oil, or am I going to have to live without it? I just used plain flour, a pinch of salt and lots of black pepper and ground ginger, mixed with a bit of water and, despite being soft, it was delicious!

Squee

Mammy to
Cerys (July 2010)
Violet (November 2013)
GP LETS 113

I don’t use a lot of batter but what about trying a yorkshire pudding sort of recipe that you could adapt? Or a toad in the hole sort of recipe? Those are mostly batter after all smile

Your recipe sounds interesting… x

Trying to do everything - failing madly!

Being constantly & lovingly educated by daughter Freya, 19 cheese

Thanks. I will look into that. I have never made Yorkshire pudding, and the only batter recipe I have ever used is for onion bhajis, so thanks for the inspiration.  smile

Squee

Mammy to
Cerys (July 2010)
Violet (November 2013)
GP LETS 113

Yorkshire pud batter:  140g flour, 200ml milk and 4 large eggs, 1/4 cup of oil seasoning.  (oil is optional - I find it makes the crisp yorkies a bit more tender but it can be left out)
Ingredients at room temp work best.  Whisk all together well.

Muffin tin works great for yorkies:  put a little oil in each and pop in the oven at 220 degrees for ten mins until starting to smoke.  Immediately add the batter to the tin and gently close the over door.