Issue 92 is out now

Welcome to The Green Parent Forum

A place where you can chat to like-minded parents, form new friendships, share ideas, events and recipes. Use the search tool to find a wealth of information from the past 10 years of forum discussions. Register today and become part of our supportive community.

I’ve finally tackled the jungle in the back garden - heaven knows what the last owner used itfor as iit was waist high in nettles - and have tarped a third ready to create a veg plot next spring, lawned a third and in the last third i would love to build the girls a willow house. But i have never done anything with trees before! Where is good to source willow? Whats the best type to use? And any other advice gratefully recieved grin

Learning from my beautiful daughters everyday

We do not own the world, we borrow it for a while from our children

Hello, I used to work with willow alot, such a beautiful medium to work with, I love it. If you want a living willow structure it will be much easier to do in the winter, then you can just order a bundle of whips and stick them in holes in the ground. If you plant them this time of year you’ll need to dig pretty large trenches and source rooted plants. You can also make a structure with willow in the summer, just not a living one, it’ll last a couple of years (depending on whether your children are as desctructive as mine?!)