Issue 91 is out now

Welcome to The Green Parent Forum

A place where you can chat to like-minded parents, form new friendships, share ideas, events and recipes. Use the search tool to find a wealth of information from the past 10 years of forum discussions. Register today and become part of our supportive community.

Im very seriously thinking of home educating my youngest two children.Smallest is only 3,but his older sister is 10 and at school (steiner) and Im really struggling with the decission of whether or not to take her out.First of all she is very happy there.She has lots of friends and does well academically .But she is a very homey person and often has days off school anyway as she just FEELS like being at home ,which I have no problem with at all.I have been considering HE for a few years now but time just goes on and I havnt done it and the school they are at is lovely(but expensive)Now smallest has got to an age where he would be joining school soon and Im really struugling with making the decission to send him.And the more I look into it,the more I wonder why I ever sent any of them to school.My elder two are 17 and 14.17 yr old is at art college and 14yr old is just about to start his final two yrs and rally wants to see it through,so its only the younger two Im thinking about here.Also the school fees are massive and we never have any spare money and I think that we could do so many things if we werent having to pay that every month,but equally I wouldnt want to send them to a state school(no offence to anyone who does) And I feel like Im missing out on their childhood.When my eldest finnished school last year,it was such a shock to realise she was pretty much grown up but had spent most of the past 10 /12 yrs in school and we hadnt had all that time together I had imagined when she was little.I dont think I want that to happen again.But Im worried my daughter (10) will miss her friends and being part of a class….am I thinking about it for selfish r