Issue 90 is out now

Welcome to The Green Parent Forum

A place where you can chat to like-minded parents, form new friendships, share ideas, events and recipes. Use the search tool to find a wealth of information from the past 10 years of forum discussions. Register today and become part of our supportive community.

Hi all!

I’m new to The Green Parent - we have just moved to Devon from Perth in Western Australia where my two children, aged 10 and 7, went to a wonderful Montessori school for ages 3 - 18. I also worked there as a classroom assistant and teacher in training.

We moved to the UK for a number of reasons but pulling them out of their school was very difficult, they were thriving there. I scoured the internet looking for a Montessori in Devon but found nothing. So I have them on the waiting list for the Steiner Academy Exeter. There’s no guarantee of a place though, so in the meantime they are at a local mainstream primary (that was my biggest dread!), and have just finished their second week. They have come home very frustrated with many questions of why things are done are certain way as it doesn’t make any sense to them. I am actually very proud of them exercising their critical thinking skills that we’ve worked so hard to instill! But I’m concerned at their developing negative feelings towards learning, and their own abilities, particularly my youngest, his behaviour has become quite anger driven and aggressive - and this is just after two weeks! Their teachers are lovely, but the jam-packed nature of the curriculum and the fast paced way everything needs to be done is just not sitting well with me, or the children. I can’t see it being a long term option.